Welcome

Distance Learning Guide –  Pedmore

Click on the document below for Pedmore’s Distance Learning Guide, Staff have created content below for year/department specific groups, Please click on the relevant links:

Distance Learning Guide – Pedmore

We recommend that pupils follow their normal school timetable to give structure and routine.

To find the appropriate work please click on the year group/subject below, There will also be work added onto More+ to access and this should be checked periodically.

Click here for general Year 7 to 10 information

Click here for general Year 11 information

Click here for pastoral information

General Resources

 

Launch of the Oak National Academy online classroom and resource hub

The sector-led Oak National Academy has today launched its online classroom and resource hub. The Academy offers 180 video lessons each week for schools to use, across a broad range of subjects. The lessons cover children in Reception through to Year 10 and are free to use by both teachers and young people.

The Oak National Academy can be accessed here:

·         https://www.thenational.academy/

Launch of BBC Bitesize

The BBC has today launched an education package across TV and online, featuring celebrities and teachers, helping to keep children learning at home and supporting parents.

BBC Bitesize can be accessed here:

·         https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize

Speakers for schools

Click here to access

DATE SPEAKER INFO
Mon 18th May 10am

Add to calendar

 

Aleida Rios, Group Head of Engineering, BP.

 

Why choose Engineering as a career? John, a graduate who works at BP, interviews BP’s Group Head of Engineering, Aleida Rios on how she got into Engineering and how students can build a career they enjoy.
Mon 18th May 2pm

Add to calendar

 

Penguin VTalk Featuring: Malcolm Gladwell, journalist, author, and public speaker How to Talk to Strangers

Author of five international bestsellers, Malcolm Gladwell, joins academic and author of Don’t Touch My Hair, Emma Dabiri, to discuss the consequences of mis-communication, how to interview others and the art of storytelling.

Tues 19th May 10am

Add to calendar

 

Robert Peston, Political Editor, ITV Join Robert Peston, Political Editor, ITV and Founder, Speakers for Schools in his very own Virtual Talk!
Tues 19th May 2pm

Add to calendar

 

Kathrina Mannion, Director of Environmental Policy, BP Kathrina will discuss her career and current role in Environment and Policy. She will also discuss her motivations and career progressions. Kathrina used to be a Senior Advisor for the government so has a really interesting career story.
Wed 20th May 10am

Add to calendar

 

Dr. Maria Faraone, Director of the RIBA Studio, Royal Institution of British Architects What does an Architect do? Dr Maria Faraone will explore with students more about the career, what it might entail and how students can pursue the career.
Wed 20th May 2pm

Add to calendar

 

David Dein, Former Chairman of Arsenal and the Football Association David’s presentation is aimed at 15-18yr olds and features the phenomenal success of the Premier League since its inception. David will also impart inspirational messages about how to be successful.
Thu 21st May 2pm

Add to calendar

 

Peter Mather, Group Regional Vice President, Europe & Head of Country, UK, BP Carbon emissions need to fall fast to meet the Paris climate goals. At the same time, the global population continues to grow – and demand more energy. By 2040, another 2 billion people are expected to be in the world, while energy demand is projected to rise by around a third, equivalent to adding another new China and EU’s worth of energy demand on top of what’s required today. How can we tackle this dual challenge?
Fri 22nd May 10am

Add to calendar

 

Tom Dore, Head of Education, British E-Sports Association Tom’s session will talk about the transferable skills that can be gained from playing esports, Tom’s session will aim to demystify the esports sector and let students know about the opportunities that exist.

To contact staff:
Use of email is the best way. Please click the email to the right of the staff name OR type in the address of the staff member you would like to contact by using their first name initial followed by their surname and @pedmorehighschool.uk. For example, Miss C Papadopoullos (Deputy Head) would be: cpapadopoullos@pedmorehighschool.uk.

Key staff:

Miss C Papadopoullos (Deputy Head): cpapadopoullos@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mr D. Scriven (Deputy Head): dscriven@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mrs H Brooks (Assistant Head and Head of Maths): hbrooks@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mrs R Tyson (Assistant Head and Head of English): rtyson@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mr A Fisher (Assistant Head I/C of Behaviour and Attitudes): afisher@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mr J Greenwood (Head of Year 11): jgreenwood@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mr J McGlade (Head of Year 9&10 and Head of PE): jmcglade@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mrs L Stanton (Head of Year 7&8): lstanton@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mr J Cable (Head of Science): jcable@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mrs D Tromans (Head of Arts): dtromans@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mrs K Hunter (Head of DT): khunter@pedmorehighschool.uk
Ms R Woods (Head of Humanities): rwoods@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mrs F Latif (I/C Languages): flatif@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mr D Willetts (Facilities Manager): dwilletts@pedmorehighschool.uk
Mrs J Clewes (Attendance Officer): jclewes@pedmorehighschool.uk
ICT support: support@invictus.education